Any comments or updates please click here.

TSHWANE UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY, PRETORIA Department of Performing Arts - Music, Musical Theatre, Dance







Street Address:

Arts campus: Staatsartillerie Rd, Pretoria West, Pretoria, 0183, South Africa

Postal Address:

Private Bag X680, Pretoria 0001, South Africa

Email 2:


Undergraduate program


Bachelor of Technology. Studies in performance (classical, jazz, musical theatre), arranging, performing arts technology, songwriting, music production.


Graduate program


Master of Performing Arts. In music. Doctor of Performing Arts. In music.


Diploma and certificate programs


Diploma in Performing Arts. Two years. In performance (classical, jazz, musical theatre), choral conducting. Advanced Diploma in Performing Arts. One year. Post-graduate Diploma in Music. One year. In performance, choral conducting.

Institution Notes:

The Tshwane University of Technology was formed on January 1, 2004 with the merger of Technikon Pretoria, Technikon Northern Gauteng and Technikon North-West. It operates on eight campuses, the Arts Campus being located in Pretoria. The Department of Vocal Arts runs the most extensive opera program in South Africa. Facilities include two performing arts theatres - the Breytenbach and the Rostrum Theatre. There is close collaboration with Roodepoort City Theatre, Pretoria State Theatre and with students and lecturers of San Francisco Conservatory of Music. The Arts Faculty occupies a brand new campus and is the only Arts Faculty in South Africa with all the performing arts, fine arts and design departments on one dedicated campus. Its light music program was the first to be introduced in the country, and it is the only institution offering a full-time jazz program. It teaches the whole spectrum of light music.

Last Updated:

June 2022