Any comments or updates please click here.

KATHOLIEKE UNIVERSITEIT LEUVEN, LEUVEN Archeology, Art History and Musicology Research Unit







Street Address:

Blijde Inkomststraat 21, 3000 Leuven, Belgium

Postal Address:

Box 3301 Leuven, Belgium


Undergraduate program


Bachelor of Arts. Studies in history and analysis of Western art music history, history of pop music.


Graduate programs


Master of Arts. In musicology. Doctor of Philosophy. Doctoral program in Creative and Performing Arts (docARTES).

Institution Notes:

This is a separate institution from the Université Catholique de Louvain which is a French-speaking institution. Formerly known as the University of Leuven, this Dutch-speaking institution was founded in 1425, being the oldest university of the Low Countries and now the largest Flemish university. There are several satellite campuses around Belgium. The Department of Musicology issues a book series 'Analysis in Context: Leuven Studies in Musicology' comprised of four research groups: • Early Music Research Group focusing on 15th and 16th century polyphony. There are close links with the Alamire Foundation, the associated research centre for the study of the music of the Low Countries. • Classical and Romantic Research Group, with an interest in formal analysis in instrumental and vocal music of the second half of the 18th and early 19th centuries. • New Music Research Group - closely connected to MATRIX (see below). • Music-Cultural Studies Research Group. Focusing on aesthetics, musical sociology and analysis. An information centre for contemporary music (MATRIX) was set up at the University in 2000. It contains more than 17,000 scores, 5,000 recordings and 500 books about contemporary classical music, with an important part of the collection devoted to Flemish music. The four-year Doctoral program (docARTES, launched in 2004) is designed for musician-researchers (performers, composers and the like) and is offered by a consortium of partner institutions in several European countries co-ordinated by the Orpheus Institute in Ghent, Belgium. The participating institutions are: • Katholieke Universiteit Leuven Association, Leuven (Belgium); • University of Leuven and the Lemmensinstituut (Belgium); • Antwerp University Association, Antwerp (Belgium); • Royal Conservatoire Antwerp (Belgium); • Leiden University, Academy of Creative and Performing Arts (Netherlands); • Koninklijk Conservatorium voor Muziek en Dans (The Hague, Netherlands); • Amsterdamse Hogeschool voor de Kunsten (Netherlands).

Last Updated:

August 2021